Uncategorized

Erev Shabbat: The Big Brother of the Beauty Industry

FRIDAY, 14 AUGUST 2015 — 5:46 PM (Prior to Sundown)

I had a day of ONLY haircuts today at the salon (which does not happen often).  When I have a day like this, I have so much down time between guests that I can work on paperwork and actually answer messages. Its kind of nice; the money is nowhere what I’m used to since I do a shit-ton of color and chemical services normally in my salon. I refer to cut-only days as the days I become “SuperCuts Josh”.  I remember three lonely days of working at SuperCuts when I was younger and starting out. 72 hours into the position and paid training, I quit.  I couldn’t stand the environment and the unpredictability of walk-in traffic.  The walk-in culture drives me buggy.  I don’t understand it and I don’t care for surprises in my daily life, so imagine me taking a walk-in… it’s not a comfortable sight to watch.  Anyway, a planned day of re-living cuts only is refreshing from time to time. It keeps me on my toes! Sometimes I wish I could schedule all of my cuts only two days a week.  I don’t know if people would be down for that.  That’s a bit Diva-ish in my book. Like that’s anything new for me. lol.

Chris and I had a little impromptu night of going out for multiple cocktails last night.  I couldn’t do another night of staying in this week.  I’ve been so good about coming home and cooking dinner, picking up the house and being a househusband, but after two evenings of that, I start to go fucking stir-crazy.  I love being domestic, but I believe in having fun.  I feel bad when Chris has been working til almost eight o’clock at night and now his crazy-ass fiance wants to hit the town! I’d backhand someone like me! 

Yesterday, I had a friend of mine visit the salon.  She works at another salon and has another work gig as well that does not involve her being a hairdresser.  I sometimes say insensitive shit like “why get your license NOT use it?” or “why aren’t you doing hair full-time?” and I forget that its difficult to build a dependable clientele when you break out into your first two years as a licensed barber or cosmetologist.  It’s such shaky ground.  People will give you a try and love you, come back for seconds and then someone says they got their hair done by so-and-so for cheaper or by someone who’s sought-after and it affects your confidence and you don’t perform very well.  I know that was the problem I had my first year. I had zero confidence in my skill and I worked with a bunch of bitchy know-it-alls that made me feel like shit.

Anyway… my friend came in and talked to me a bit about her life and her love for the industry and I offered to help her with color models and shadowing hours in the salon.  I would love her to come to the salon and do a couple of colors and cuts for me so I can see how she works from the time of her consultation with the guest to pre-booking their next appointment.  I think there’s some missing pieces for her because no one took the time to tell her the tips and tricks of romancing a guest back to your chair.  People want you to succeed, they REALLY do! Nobody likes jumping from hairdresser to hairdresser, it’s annoying. Its liking dumping a boyfriend and dating all over again.

As she talked about the environment she’s working in, she talked about a co-worker that just rags on her.  One minute she’s best friends with my friend and then the next minute she’s NOT speaking to her and sends her immature, passive-agressive texts when she gets to her car.  I think this is toxic and hindering my friend from growing.  I know she’s a talented artist and I want to see her grow.  I sent her home with some Wella literature and an invitation to come back to the salon.  She hugged me and I felt like I had done my work for the day.  I don’t ever want anyone to belittle her the way I was belittled.

Today as I cut hair and looked at the salon, I looked at all the opportunities awaiting someone.  I think I’m going to look for a new intern to come in and help and learn in the salon.  I LOVE internships! I love showing people how to formulate, how to consult with a guest, how to retail and pre-book, no one teaches you those things!  They give you some scissors and a license and cruelly expect you to make a living.  Most first-year hairdressers don’t even make $24,000.  I remember the first year of hair, I made close to that number and was called a “lucky one”.  I felt so strapped after buying supplies, paying for advanced academies and keeping up with the Joneses. $24,000 may look like a decent number, but once someone takes booth rent, you buy color and you pay for everything, there’s nothing left. Those thoughts pass through my head when I see someone struggle and then to be bullied and pressured by a co-worker just adds to the pressure of NOT wanting to be at work.

I have to help my friend, I have to help everyone out there and show them how amazing this industry is.  Just think of me as everyone’s BIG BROTHER of the beauty industry, I guess.

Shabbat Shalom, my friends.

Standard

Leave a Reply

