a year in my life

Monday Night: 65-Degree Education

MONDAY, 12 OCTOBER 2015 — WELLA EDUCATION @ ROCKSTARS + LAMBS 

Today I hosted my first education event at the salon.  In the last three and a half years, I have dreamt of doing a class a lot like the way today’s class went.  We started out this morning with a live color demo with a top colorist from Wella Professionals.  It was very cool to have someone in the salon representing the brand that practiced such poise and ease when applying lightener to our model’s hair.  She was very quiet to start.  I could tell she was a thinker.  Back in the day when I was doing salon demos for a major haircare company, I would often stay pretty quiet until I got warmed up and felt the vibe the group was sending.  Our group was very small compared to the initial class that RSVPed.  I had 18 on the list today and only 10 people were able to make the class (this included the model and the educator).  There is part of me that is upset with the other eight people that said they would be there and there is another part of me that just wants to drop it and move on into the afterthoughts of amazingness that the day turned out to be.

As soon as the class started today, I found myself nervous at how cold the salon was.  I have learned to live with the temperature of my salon.  My building is an old historic building that has crappy insulation.  The high ceilings and the large picture windows do not allow the cool air to stay in all the summer or the heat to resonate all winter and since its fall it was kind of chilly this morning and kind of perfect this afternoon when we came back from lunch.  By nature, I prefer being in a cold space since my body temperature runs pretty hot most of the time.  Poor Chris often has to shut the air off in the apartment because I keep us blasted at a chilly 65 degrees almost all year long.  I know it sounds insane, but that’s how I roll.  Most people didn’t think much of it once they started drinking coffee and got involved in the education.

Right before lunch was ready to be dismissed, the educator informed me that she was probably going to work through the lunch hour.  I was thinking that that wasn’t super cool at all, but I understand the need to get the model done before we all come back.  Most of the time (for those of you that don’t know), as an educator, you don’t tend to get to sit and eat for very long.  You’re very ucky if you’re given more than fifteen or minutes to find something to munch on quickly while you prep your next “segment” as it were.  Companies do not pay you to eat (they’re kind of rude that way).  We left for lunch and I got the group settled at the table.  I made reservations at Rosario’s, one of my favorite restaurants in town.  They took care of us splendidly and had a limited menu available for my guests attending the class.  I told everyone to begin eating as bread and salad hit the table and went back to check on the educator back at the salon.  I walked in and she was working her ass off glazing the model.  Her hands were moving fast!  I could tell that secretly she wanted to join us for lunch.  I went back to the restaurant and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.  I ordered a glass of wine and when it came time to order entrees excused myself once again to see Kristin’s progress. She was blowdrying the model when I walked back in the salon.  I said, “the entrees haven’t even hit the table yet”.  We were 45 minutes into our lunch period, but I wasn’t about to rush my guests.  Kristin and the model came with me this time and ordered a couple entrees.  Finally! I was able to sit comfortably and enjoy the networking opportunity I set up on purpose.  My goal at lunch was the treat the attendees to a classy lunch where we could theoretically “break bread” and enjoy getting to know each other.  Everyone seemed to enjoy this very much including the educator from Wella.  I ordered a second glass of wine for me and Chris and excused everyone back to the salon with Kristin so she could start the afternoon component.  She was very thankful and the group looked excited to see what the model’s hair would look like finished.

When I walked back in from lunch, Kristin was back at it blowdrying and pinning sections.  I could see the timeline in her head ticking away.  It was only 1:30 or so, but 90 minutes goes by fast when you’re speaking to a group of interested people.  As she worked through Alex’s hair, I tried to make a new cup of coffee for myself to discover that the Keurig was being a bitchface.  I have no idea what’s going on with this machine!  Poor Laurel tried to make some coffee this morning and I barked at her like the machine was “normal” when it fact its a first generation Keurig that should be sold at a rummage sale.  I sat back down sans coffee and passed out bottles of water to the group.

As we finished the class, I was washing Kristin’s bowls and brushes and getting them ready for her to pack up and head back home.  I looked at the class and even though it was small, I felt very proud that my small 840-square foot salon was able to offer an amazing education opportunity to a group of salon professionals that wanted to expand their already existing color knowledge.  I thanked everyone for coming and thanked the BSG rep for setting up the connection and thanked Kristin for her wealth of knowledge and taking the time to work her ass off in my 65 degree salon.  Today before the class started, I was given a few rolls of Wella-brand foil and a foil cutter that are generally only given out to key salons, ambassadors and educators for the company.  I was so happy to get this gift and looked at it as a sign of prestige.  Chris looked at me and said, “looks like you’re educating for Wella.”

Yes, it does.

Standard

Leave a Reply

