a year in my life, Breakfast, comedy, diary, friends, luxelove, sunday

Sunday Morning: A Little Botox

Sunday, 27 December 2015 —

Today, I woke up about 7:30 and turned the TV to Food Network and let it play while I rested a bit more on the couch.  Chris got home from the bar a little after 3am this morning and we sat up and he ate some loaded fries and I rolled up some turkey from the deli with mustard and a piece of cheese and snacked along side him.  He asked me why I was still awake when he got home and I said, “I was waiting for my baby.” It was all very cute.  4:30 came and we fell asleep watching an episode of “The Nanny” on DVR.

I rolled off the couch about 11 and made a new pot of coffee and lit my candle at my meditation alter.  I never meditate until I have coffee in hand!  I don’t feel like God, The Creator, The Great Integrity or Ralph would get my full attention if I didn’t pour coffee first.  My meditation has been intense the past month and a half.  I have been meditating daily ranging from five minutes to sometimes thirty at a time.  I remember when I began studying transcendental meditation years ago and blogged about it on Rockstar Slums and my ex called me a loon.  (He also detested my love for crystal therapy.  I’m so glad he’s out of the picture.)  There’s something about greeting the energy of each new day.  It’s as though you are paying your respects for the creation of newly created moment in time to make your mark.  I think most people take this for granted.  Waking up in a rush is NOT my thing and it will never be.  I sip my coffee, breathe in, count to thirteen and sip another bit of coffee and let my mind focus on the day.  For me, I sit in preferred silence and listen to my intuition and feel what is out the window, how the light is, if its windy or not.  A windy day means there’s chaos in the world (or at least on my block), a soft light means there are miracles and calmness on the horizon soon.  I’ve learned this through the years.  It will be 14 years since I began meditation. I would never go back to a life without it.

Tomorrow is my first day back to work after four days off for the holiday.  I haven’t taken any personal time off this year til this last four days and I could tell.  I could feel myself becoming more and more agitated than normal.  That’s not a good look at all.  People can tell.  I told Chris I was going to book an appointment for a Botox fill soon and he said, “go for it.”  I haven’t gotten Botox in over a year and I am telling you: I can tell.  Some people say, “oh you don’t need that shit, Josh.”  Yes Josh does!  I love my face with a good fill from the right dermatologist.  I have always advocated for plastic surgery and fillers and will probably never stop. I believe that you should do the MINIMUM amount though.  A little goes a long way.  There’s no need to be shot up with 27 units, that’s just your skin, honey!  Botox doesn’t erase your age, so stop fighting it. A few good days away from my phone and the salon made all the difference.  I have understood that the DO NOT DISTURB setting on my iPhone really comes in handy.  I don’t turn it off unless I’m away from Chris or at work.  Anyone and everyone else can wait.  What did we do before cell phones?  We left a message.  I’ll get your message.

Christmas always heralds leftovers in most American homes and ours is no exception! I had some mashed potatoes and green chili for breakfast like a true Puebloan and a bit of my mom’s roast turkey.  Breakfast at our house is so untraditional.  If we have leftovers, those go first.  If we don’t have leftovers, then I make eggs or toast or something.  I never ate leftovers really until about two years ago when I read about The Great Depression and I decided wasting was a sin.  Even rich people ate leftovers during the Depression.  It sounds shallow of me, but if Sir Cooley ate leftovers and re-wore his trousers without a fresh wash during the Depression, so can I!

Leftovers and Botox aside, I’m excited to be going back to work tomorrow.  I need to be with clients.  It makes me happy.  I have ONE WEEK left of Christmas decorations and then I’ll take them down on January 4th.  There’s something about LIVING in the spirit of Christmas for a just a touch longer.  You don’t have to play the music anymore and you don’t have to act like you’re excited for gift giving, but you can enjoy the decorations.  Three Kings Day generally signals the end of Christmas for most European and Latin homes and I’m no exception (even though I’m not Christian).  Greeting the new calendar year in a dream state like the holiday season gives me a bit of hope that 2016 could be a gorgeous, fulfilling year.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

