a year in my life, comedy, diary, Family, friends, jry, living well, luxelove, rules for life

Thursday Afternoon: Here’s to 2016, the calm life and more good haircuts…

Thursday, 31 December 2015 — New Year’s Eve

I woke up this morning with heartburn and a thirst for anything COLD and liquid that would quench my night of drinking, singing karaoke and Cumbia dancing.  Lord in Heaven!  I didn’t expect to party the night away last night, but as it turns out, it was one for the books.   I told Chris that I am grounded for the rest of 2015.  Thank goodness we only have this evening to go and then I can be untied and left to roam the land again looking for a good time.  In all fairness, today is Chris’ birthday and we will be celebrating his birthday tonight, not New Year’s Eve.  It has been a hard 2015 for a lot of us and I am gladly looking forward to opening my eyes to a new day tomorrow morning.  I don’t need copious amounts of cocktails tonight, I am more than happy having a couple club sodas and sipping something easy tonight.  I want Chris to enjoy his night.  I, on the other hand, just want to greet 2016 calmly.

I got my haircut today and was so happy to sit in Elizabeth’s chair and just breathe in the essential oils that she rubs on my scalp.  I look so forward to my haircut every two weeks.  I don’t know if I’ve truly ever enjoyed a haircut until I came to her.  There’s something to be said about a good haircut.  You have to be able to put someone at ease.  I couldn’t care less about what’s going on in the world for that 25 minutes. I just want to relax and enjoy every fragrance, every cut, every finishing detail.  I don’t play on my phone when I’m having a service done.  I find it very rude actually when people sit in my chair on their phones while I’m cutting their hair. Enjoy the moment, put your fucking phone down and let me work.  The whole world slumps over now because they’re addicted to looking at these tiny little screened-items we carry with us now days.  I frankly could go back to a landline and email and be a happy baby.  A good haircut should keep your attention anyway.  You should look forward to it the way a kid looks forward to new shoes before the school year starts.  I do.

Someone asked me what I’m looking forward to in 2016 and I honestly can’t answer.  I look forward to the unexpected really.  I don’t know how to expect the comedy scene this year or the functions that will roll out or how involved I will be or not be.  I do know I’m looking forward to “restarting” my public life.  This hiatus shit is for the birds.  As soon as I was getting ready to re-boot comedy and performing, we had a family tragedy when Chris’ mom passed and it has taken the past few months to get settled at home.  I haven’t had a moment to look at my comedy note and think: “oh that’s a great joke”.  I’ve been a partner.  I’ve been a husband.  I’ve been trying to be a big brother, a mentor, a salon owner.  There is no joke to any of that.  I have really tried this year to be so good at being family oriented.  I love my family and my friends, but all this holiday time off has given me some thinking time.  I haven’t had a chance to sit and think.  I wish every day was “haircut day” because I come home or go to work after and think more and more.  That really helps me relax.  2016 should be fun, but I honestly don’t have any goals.

This morning while Chris was working on the dress he’s been constructing for the passed month, I asked him if 22 (yes, he’s 22) held any aspirations or goals for him.  He had a very humble answer to work, build a clientele, perform more drag and build his collection and repertoire more.  I think those are all so tangible.  I was trying to think about what I wanted at 22, I think I was just ready to make money and be successful.  I was ready to win it.  I was thirsty to grow and become an icon, basically.  I wanted that so badly. I think I succeeded.  I really do.  I sometimes have to sit back and think back to when I was Chris’ age and it all makes more sense to me. Sometimes I get so lost in thirty-something that I forget how fun it is to be young and expressive.  I wish we all were always expressive and young always.  I think to myself, I’m not in my twenties and I need to understand that my role now is building others up.  My life in my thirties is very different.

2016 is at our doorstep friends, so as I move onto an afternoon of counting inventory at work and celebrating my bubs’ birthday, all I can honestly say that I hope 2016 brings us is more peace than 2015 when the world was offended by everything and that we learn how to take a moment and breathe.  We all need to put our phones down, sit down, close our eyes and get a good haircut and forget what goals are expected of us and how we’re going to get there.  I want calmness in 2016… and Botox.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

