a year in my life, diary, Eating Habits, Eating Well, gossip, luxelove, spilling tea

Monday Night: The Cozy Corner, The No-Show and Facebook Live

Monday, 16 May 2016 —

Last night I sat in my fabulous new white reading chair and read a large portion of an old textbook I picked up at a thrift store the other day.  The book is all about nutrition, food, food groups, entertaining.  Its pretty fabulous and incredibly scholarly.  It’s not something someone would read unless assigned to read it.  In fact, it’s a textbook from a 1958 Home Ec class.  I am enjoying every nerdy moment of it.  Chris was curled up on the new comfy grey couch snoring and I was looking at the clock pass from midnight to one a.m. and then two a.m. came.  I decided my imaginary Home Ec teacher would applaud my efforts, so I closed the book and went to bed around 2:30 a.m.

I returned some phone calls today at the salon in lieu of applying color as I had a n0-show at the salon today.  I can’t stand no-shows!  I really find it to be a jab in a ribs.  It’s so rude.  Today I had “a friend” on the books and she decided to miss her appointment.  She’s been acting weird lately and I can’t imagine why she “wouldn’t show up”… NOT! I knew exactly what was going on.  There is no way she could possibly tell me she forgot her appointment.  This no-show was intentional.  I went on with a my to-do list while Chris worked on his guest and Laurel deep cleaned the salon  and got it back in order.

About 2pm, I lost my mojo.  A no-show can sometimes throw the vibe of the salon off especially if you’re used to being continuously busy like me.  My 2:30 guest came in and we had fun chatting and I got right back on the horse.  As 6pm approached, I looked at my to-do list and decided to do a Facebook Live video.  The latest form of vlogging via Facebook has proven successful for me.  I have this little segment on my timeline called #coloristconfessions.  People actually watch!  The vlog is meant primarily for beauty professionals, but it seems like people love seeing me get tired of holding my iPhone at a flattering angle while I talk about the ins-and-outs of the salon and primarily how to be better at it.

Despite the no-show, I accomplished a lot today! I came home, made some spaghetti and watched the season finale of RuPaul’s Drag Race with Chris and am looking forward to turning the lights low in my new “cozy corner” and reading about what folks had to say about vitamins and minerals in 1958.  What is nerdy for some is pure cozy Heaven for others!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

