a year in my life, Dinner, Eating Habits, etiquette, Family, Food, jry, living well, luxelove, rules for life

Thursday Evening: It’s Time To “Take” A Holiday

Thursday, 11 August 2016 — 

I’m sitting at the wine bar typing.  Chris is in Denver with Miya.  I’m all alone for the evening.  Solito pa’ moi — it’s a bit refreshing, but at on the same token, not what I expected this evening.  Miya is at a concert tonight and Chris is being a good big brother and chaperoning.  I expect to see him about midnight or one. We’ll see.  In the meantime, I’m single tonight and single now does not feel like single did when I was actually, well, single.

I’ve been talking to my clients a bit about my trip to Florida and a few have had no idea whether I was gone for business or pleasure, but lucky for me it all plays out as pleasure since I love what I do for a living.  As I was sitting with Richard at the end of my visit last month, he said he wouldn’t be able to touch base with me because was going to be “on holiday” for most of August.  He asked me where I was going for holiday and I wanted to respond to him that we don’t really do that here.  It’s sad, really.  I want to go “on holiday”!

I wonder why we don’t take holiday in the United States.  Are we addicted to work? of all things

September rolls around two days after my birthday and ever since I was a child, all I remember was that September 1st meant we were back to business: school is back in session, the Jewish High Holy Days begin soon, fashion week causes a commotion on the television and print media.  There’s a part of the world that celebrates the Jewish New Year by celebrating fashion week and a new “season”.  The television series on network television begin again, magazines are dedicated to beauty forecasts and the New York Times seems like it begins anew as well.

Every September, I revamp the website, look at pricing at the salon, drop color lines, drop services, drop retail lines, add a new line, add a new color line, refresh my game if you will.  Why in all the years have I not taken holiday, celebrated my birthday, and begun anew on September 1st?

I think, come 2017, I’m going to begin taking holiday… in August, and celebrate my birthday… in August.  Yes.  Holiday it is!

I have to tell you: working for a European company has changed my breakfast habits and ideas of “work”.  I don’t know why we don’t take more breaks, eat better food, enjoy life and live without smartphones.  I really don’t.

I am feeling a strange rebirth taking place in my life.  I don’t want to go on being so American and so obsessed with work and money.  I want to live a little.  I want to “take” holiday.  I want to “take” exercise (as the English would say).  I want to take siesta (like the Spaniards) and mostly, I want to learn to love existing again. Living to work is not the way life should be.

Save your money.  Give it your all each day. Eat good cheese, good bread, good butter.  Fuck what people say! Take a holiday, learn to breathe, learn to take a break and enjoy this life.

We only have one, my darlings.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

