Uncategorized

Tuesday Evening: Calling It “Josh”.

Tuesday, 23 August 2016 — 

Today I stayed home from work.  After suffering all night with abdominal pain, bloating and cramps, I can accurately tell you that my Crohn’s disease got the best of me last night and for a large part of this morning.  The horrible cramps that can come with intestinal swelling are not the kind of cramps you get from a gas bubble or working out too hard on “ab day”; they are the kind of cramps that do not allow you to breathe deeply without feeling every muscle or expel gas and air properly like the body needs.

I had a situation like this pop up a couple months ago when a series of clients pissed me off on a Monday.  As stress can agitate Crohn’s and proper digestion, I was in the fetal position most of that evening and woke up, moved my clients around for the day and went to work later.  Later that day, I wrote an email to one client and fired her for her unprofessionalism and demeaning behavior and had pow wows with the two others face-to-face.  Yesterday, I was incredibly annoyed when I walked into work and noticed a lack of Josh-like precision in cleanliness and had a client show up under the influence of alcohol that couldn’t get her shit together.  I seriously cannot deal with folks that find it alright to meander through life like a bunch of fratboys that have no consideration for me or my business.

Last week, I was incredibly annoyed and yesterday added to the rollover stress.  My first two clients made me so happy and I enjoyed every moment with them. I love sweet people that follow the rules.    My third client, however,  rolled in drunk off two beers and nearly lost her heel twice in the salon and threw her purse on the floor.  Buzzed, nonchalant, whatever… it was fucking gross behavior.  Today she texted and said her hair didn’t look alright on one side.  Well, no shit, bitch! You couldn’t see straight in my chair!  I’m sure she woke up today and wanted to critique her boozy haircut.  So annoying.  I need for folks to pull their heads out of their asses.  I will not do it for you, but I will give you a high five to face when you finally get it fucking right… and frankly you deserve it!

Okay, rant over.

Being home allowed me to sit and research re-kashering my kitchen and going back to a mostly vegetarian home.  I wrote a mission statement for the salon that all takes effect September 1st.  I’ve also been working on my own mission statement for my health, family and relationships.  I can’t continue moving forward with some of the sloppy habits that have become my own.  Chris and I have been working on our relationship and things are wonderful at Casa de Cooley.  What I’ve chosen NOT to do is share my relationship details any longer with family or friends.  Frankly, I don’t want their jaded opinions because most of them are less than perfect in their own relations.  Financially, I’ve started making some changes in my own business and the way the payroll and taxes are with held at the salon.  In a time where I’m making more money rapidly, I have to play catch up with the IRS, keep on top of this year’s growing finances and maintain a healthy money-life balance.  A lot of this involves just not spending money.  Frankly, I don’t spend as much money in Pueblo anymore.  I don’t go out to eat like I used to here.  I’d much rather save my money for nice clothes, good booze, good cheese and stay home or meet people out for cocktails and call it good.  Frankly, I’m bored by the overfed, entitled culture I’m seeing.  I’m really very content working and going home and beginning the draft of my book.  I need to get back to just loving music, reading more, and enjoying my life.  I started this weening off of social media lately and frankly I enjoy being “absent” from it all.  It’s just not my thing anymore.  It’s boring like going out to eat in Pueblo.  I can’t stomach most of the shit on the Newsfeed anymore… like most FOOD in Pueblo.  If it’s not about food, music, celebrity news of salon education, I don’t really invest in it.

I guess what you would call this is a Josh Renaissance.  I’m returning to my roots.  I’m returning to me at 20 years old when I wanted to be a Eurocentric fashion boy that wrote and listened to the latest pop record in French or Arabic.  I’m renouncing a lot of the facade people have grown to know.  If it doesn’t interest me, I won’t turn my nose up at it, but I’ll most likely not pay it any attention

Call it snobby, call it discriminating.  I’m calling it Josh.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

