a year in my life, diary, living well

Monday Morning: Domestic God

Monday, 12 September 2016 —

Yesterday, Chris and I stayed in except for one short trip to the grocery store.  We have successfully transitioned to a meat-free home, meat-free grocery visit.  Now, not to sound super vegetable-like, I did break all the rules on Friday and roasted a chicken for Shabbat dinner on Friday night.  The next day, we met my aunt and uncle out for sandwiches and beers at Gus’ Tavern in Bessemer.  Chris and I arrived first, about thirty minutes later, everyone arrived.  The unkosher delicacy of salami and capicola made for a welcome “field trip” for both of us from our meat-free home adjustment.  We’ve both dropped a little weight the last couple of weeks, we’re sleeping better and we’re regulating our moods pretty good.  This meat-free life might be a gig!  If you haven’t tried it, try it!  Go down to meat-free living at least 80% of the time, you’ll be very appreciative of the special occasion surrounding a roast chicken, a good piece of sushi or something as simple as a deli sandwich on really good bread.  I sound like the Barefoot Contessa, I know!

This next couple of days is pretty low in “case loads”, if you will, at the salon which gives me time to write and get some stuff done at the house.  I’m thinking that’s alright.  I’m actually not minding the idea of tackling the writing of my book and cleaning some stuff up around the house.

This morning I woke up and started a pot of homemade chicken stock.  Chris looked at the remnants of the Friday night bird with vegetables, garlic and shallots still stuffed in the cavity.  The sight of an animal’s skeleton just depresses him.  He loves animals so much and finds it cruel that people eat them.  I get it.  I also like homemade stock and doing Martha Stewart shit when I have the time to do so.  Two hours in, the house smells like home-made chicken soup.  Very homey, very comforting.

This domestic God stuff isn’t so bad when I have the chance to do it, but I’m not trading my salon life or cocktail time anytime soon to do this full-time.  I’ll be ready for a double-booked day very soon (Friday actually).  Home-making is a hobby for me, not a job title I want anytime soon no matter how good the house smells.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

