a year in my life, Family, luxelove, rules for life

Tuesday Evening: …Seems Calm

Tuesday, 4 October 2016 — Second Day of Rosh Hashanah 

I had lunch with my mom today at Suehiro.  She and my dad have fallen in love with the place and the nice, friendly owners.  Thank you, Lord!  It feels as though things are finally getting back to normal in my personal life.  I can’t handle tension between family members.  It’s a nice, clean start to the new year.  Two days into the Jewish new year of 5777, we’re good.  Things are smooth and I’ll be truthful and tell you that anyone that wants to add tension or drama to this ten day period between Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur will quickly be getting written off very fast if they want to argue without any reason or want to grudge to grudge.  I won’t write that in my own plans for the new year.   Toxicity is not allowed.  This may become a rather quiet year for me… oh god!  Is this what being a grown-up feel like? Fuck.

These past days were very fun.  I was interested to know how I was going to spend the first two days of the new year because they tend to set the mood for the entire Jewish year.  Yesterday, we went out of town, came home, napped.  Easy enough.  I was with Miya and Chris most of the day.  Miya and I went to McDonald’s earlier.  Probably not the most kosher meal, but whatever, I’m not perfect, but we got some good sister-brother time in. Last night, I came home and watched some Real Housewives on Bravo and actually got bored.  What?! I fell asleep watching Netflix with Chris.  Very comfortable day.  Today, I went to the store with my mom and the were out of everything I usually buy.  Our little Sephora is so sad.  They have two bottles and two buyers.  They can’t accommodate us.  The displays were dirty.  I’m just gonna shop online or get on a plane and shop elsewhere.  You had one job, Sephora.  Stock my shit.  I was flexible and bought some Shiseido instead of Dr. Jart products.  Please understand that this was a huge sacrifice for me.  It was also an act of maturity.  I visited a new tanning salon since my favorite one closed.  I had been going there since I was 17 years old.  The owner didn’t want it anymore.  I’ve had to be incredibly flexible the past couple of days.  Guess what? I lived.

I turned my phones on today and the messages were out of control.  People are texting, emailing, loving, tweeting and in a new different light.  It seems to me that things are shifting in the Universe.  I’m incredibly excited for that.  I have felt a shift in my friendships the last few months and I probably am to blame for some of the distance, but I think mostly, people change and we are no longer interested in each other or we need a break.  The folks that want to stick around will and everyone else is really not my concern. I’m here.  Same number, same email, same Instagram, same address, same salon.  You know how to find me.

This afternoon I got home and made some espresso in my new Bialetti espresso maker.  How Euro.  How chic.  I opened my new Japanese sleeping mask, we all three smelled it.  It feels special in texture.  I deserve special. We all do.

It’s cocktail time.  I may  have a one at home and breathe in the last of my day off as the sun sets.

Thanks to the Creator for a new year.  Rosh Hashanah this year seems calm.  Let’s keep it that way.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

